Election of new Council of Europe Secretary General: The candidates

Four politicians from across Europe are now in the running to succeed Thorbjørn Jagland as Secretary General of the Council of Europe, it was announced today.

The Chair of the Committee of MinistersAt has received four nominations following  the expiry of the deadline for member States to propose candidates for the election of the next Secretary General:

  • Didier REYNDERS, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Affairs, Minister of Defence of Belgium
  • Andrius KUBILIUS, Former Prime Minister, Member of the Seimas (Parliament) of Lithuania
  • Dora BAKOYANNIS, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Member of Parliament of Greece
  • Marija PEJČINOVIĆ BURIĆ, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Foreign and European Affairs of Croatia.

The Committee of Ministers will interview the four candidates separately in March 2019, and decide upon a final list of candidates that will be transmitted to the Parliamentary Assembly.

The Parliamentary Assembly will then proceed with the election of the next Secretary General, which is scheduled for June 2019, whose mandate begins on 1 October 2019.


Comments are closed.