Fourteen countries sign-up to new sports safety and security treaty

Fourteen countries have now signed-up to the Council of Europe’s new sports safety and security treaty.

Bulgaria, France, Georgia, Greece, Lithuania, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Portugal, the Russian Federation, Switzerland, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and Ukraine have signed the Council of Europe Convention on an Integrated Safety, Security and Service Approach at Football Matches and Other Sports Events.

The international sports treaty, designed to ensure stadia are safer, more secure and welcoming, was launched at the Stade de France in Paris on 3 July, at the UEFA European Football Championship quarter final match between France and Iceland.

Secretary General Thorbjørn Jagland, hailed the convention as the “world’s first international treaty for fans.”

More information

Video presentation

Comments are closed.